My Failures in Business and Lessons I’ve Learned by Kimble Lewis

“It’s fine to celebrate success but it is more important to heed the lessons of failure” — Bill Gates

Yes, I have failed in business. I would not be successful if I truly did not. However, I take a failure to fame perspective that enables me to find opportunity in failure and seize it!

My Failures in Business  and The Lessons I've Learned

I failed in judgment and influence when I worked at Morgan Stanley, Citi, and JPMorgan Chase. In addition, I let success get to my head.

Lessons learned: Effective and efficient management and leadership requires a focus on winning, a focus on creating a climate for success, and a focus on building employee engagement.

I failed to galvanize my larger team to support my vision 100% before expecting them to fully support the strategy and execution I championed.

Lessons learned: High – impact leadership and results involves over-communicating to teams and employees, developing followership, and empowering employees.

Leave a comment